Seeking to be transformed into the image of Jesus

The Law of Inertia

One of the phenomena I have noticed in life is the way most of us avoid the things we know we most need. Some call it the “tyranny of the urgent” or something like that. We let the urgent needs that pop up crowd out the time we should spend on truly important things. We spend all our time putting out fires and we never take time to do the things that really feed our souls. In the end we feel frazzled and distracted and wonder why we aren’t growing or making progress in life.

This phenomenon is something I struggle with often. It’s part of why I haven’t blogged in more than a year. I know that when I slow down and reflect and write I connect most deeply with my own heart and with the heart of God, yet I find any number of good (and sometimes not so good) things to do instead. I rationalize I don’t have enough time or I complain that I get interrupted or that I don’t know what to write about. But it’s all excuses at the end of the day. And when I stop to think about it, I know how fulfilled I am and how much I grow when I take the time to do it. I suppose it’s the law of inertia in practice – an object at rest (me) tends to stay at rest (to my shame/demise).

For a little while now I have been taking time to write. I have been sitting down and allowing myself to reflect and ponder and process. But I haven’t cut and pasted and published. Maybe it’s fear that what I’ll write isn’t worth reading; maybe it’s the embarrassment of having not blogged for so long; I’m not sure. But my wife has fulfilled her dream of blogging (see Dr. Angie’s blog here) and a good friend I hadn’t seen in a while mentioned she missed my blogging (thanks Sravani!) and they have inspired me to get back at it.

It is easy to take a very passive approach to life and spirituality. It is easier to be reactive than proactive. But we have a responsibility to do our part – to be active participants – in our spiritual journey. Without question it is the Holy Spirit who produces true and lasting change but as Paul wrote “...continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose” (Philippians 2:12b-13).

What’s something important you know you should do but have avoided or put off? What opportunities have you missed by not making it a priority? I encourage you to carve out time today or put it on your calendar for this week! The blessings and benefits may not be immediate, but the investment will never be wasted!

4 responses

  1. mark sharp

    Thanks for taking the steps to become active in your blog again. As usual the comments and insight hit home.

    January 17, 2015 at 11:27 pm

  2. Curtis Tyler

    Thanks for taking up the pen again! Keep on connecting with your heart

    January 18, 2015 at 12:48 am

  3. Sebastiaan

    Hi Rick,
    Thanks for sharing!
    I recognize it.

    January 20, 2015 at 2:52 am

  4. I appreciate your comment about “reflect, ponder, and process”. Something I have gotten away from. Thanks for inspiring/reminding me to incorporate that into my routine again.

    January 23, 2015 at 12:37 am

Leave a Reply

