Seeking to be transformed into the image of Jesus

About Grumbling…

Well, it’s been a while…busy December and then three weeks of travel…but I’m back…just a short thought to start the New Year…not so much a resolution as a heartfelt desire…

This morning I was reading Philippians 2:12-18 and was really struck by verse 14, “Do all things without grumbling or questioning…”  As a parent, I think this is a great verse.  I had my kids memorize this verse in the NIV (it has “complaining” instead of “questioning”[i]) because I hoped they would learn to obey Angie and me with less complaining and arguing than we usually heard.  It had mixed results…

But today, I was convicted that this was a verse I needed to hear.  I think I grumble and complain, argue and question a lot in my own life and in my various situations.  I mean, things don’t always go the way I want; I often have too much to do; people sometimes inconvenience me; I could go on, but I think you get the picture…

I don’t want to be that way.  I don’t want to grumble and question, argue and complain.  I want to have a cheerful heart.  I want to see all of life as a gift and its challenges as opportunities to grow and learn.  I want to be grateful and joyful.  I want to smile more and laugh more and not take life quite so seriously…or at least not take myself quite so seriously…


[i] In Greek the word has the idea of disputing or question in an argumentative way.

Leave a Reply

